Informing, empowering, educating: Celebrate World Radio Day and broadcasting excellence

Informing, empowering, educating: Celebrate World Radio Day and broadcasting excellence

What: Virtual event – World Radio Day Celebration 2024
When: Tuesday, Feb. 13, 2024 at 11 a.m. ET, 4 p.m. GMT, 5 p.m. WAT, 7 p.m. EAT
Where: Zoom

*This bilingual event will have live translation between English and French.

Watch the full recording here.

Join us on Tuesday, Feb. 13, 2024 to celebrate World Radio Day as we announce and honour the 2024 winners of the Farm Radio awards!

In this year’s bilingual event, meet the winners of the George Atkins Communication Award and the Liz Hughes Award for Her Farm Radio as they talk about their craft.

As part of the event:

  • We’ll host a conversation between one of the George Atkins Award winners and a previous winner! Learn tips for radio broadcasting excellence, serving your listeners, and working towards local food security.
  • Hear a conversation with the winner of the Liz Hughes Award! Find out what radio means for women, and what radio broadcasters are doing to promote gender equality in their country.
  • See videos from all the 2024 winners of the Farm Radio awards.

This year’s theme for World Radio Day is Radio: A century informing, entertaining and educating. The theme shines a broad floodlight on radio’s remarkable past, relevant present and promise of a dynamic future. Join us as we celebrate the many excellent radio broadcasters who are ensuring their programs remain relevant for their audiences, now and into the future.

Don’t miss this opportunity to celebrate the power of radio and excellence in radio broadcasting.

Want to learn more?

Get our latest news and stories.

Subscribe

Get our latest news and stories.